You can void or delete a customer payment either from the Customer Payment History report, the General Ledger, or on the individual customer Payments page:
Reports > Accounting > Customer Reports > Customer Payment History
OR
Accounting > Overview > General Ledger
OR
Accounting > Receivables > Customers > {Select the Customer Name} > Payments
When you void a customer payment, you will reverse the entry, but still see a record that the payment was voided on your Payment History Report. A deleted payment will be removed from this report. For more details, see Void or Delete a Transaction: What’s the difference?
Select the customer and date range and run the report to find the payment you want to void or delete.
At the bottom of the payment, click either “Void” or “Delete.”
A confirmation page will show.
Choose Yes to continue.
Choose No to return to the Payments page.
Voided customer payments will appear in the customer’s payment history at the top of the payment, and the date voided.
Deleted payments will be hidden from this report, but will appear in your Modified Transactions Report.
The General Ledger report will show the voided customer payment as a withdrawal from your account balance.
Note: Voiding or deleting a payment in the accounting software is a recorded transaction but does not send money back to your customer automatically. If the customer payment was made through Stripe, do not void it to issue a refund. Instead, go to Reports > Accounting > Customer Reports > Customer Payment History, open the payment, and click “Refund.”
This sends the money back through Stripe and records a Customer Refund transaction so your reports stay accurate. Partial refunds must be initiated in your Stripe account. See Refunding a Customer Payment for more information.
